.

Security Guards Assigned to All Ridgefield Schools

In the wake of the Newtown school shooting, plans are being implemented to add security guards, police officers and new visitor management and employee access systems for Ridgefield's nine schools.


All Ridgefield schools will be staffed by on-site security guards and police officers following the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting that claimed the life of 20 students and six educators last month.

“I think all the schools in the country are looking at improving security,” said Ridgefield School Superintendent Deborah Low, following her 2013-14 school budget presentation Monday, which included details of school security improvements.

Some of the improvements have already been implemented, including the hiring of eight new security guards to ensure that each of the district’s nine schools have a guard on duty every school day. The Ridgefield schools already employed two security guards, so the new hirings will bring the total to 10. Low said one will be assigned to “float” between schools as needed.

The new security guards will not carry firearms, as was the suggestion of some gun-rights advocates, including National Rifle Association CEO and Executive Vice President Wayne LaPierre, following the Newtown shooting.

Low said school administrators are consulting with the Ridgefield Police Department over adding two more school resource officers as well. Presently there is one school resource officer assigned to Ridgefield schools.

Another prominent security improvement is a revision in the visitor management system for all the schools, including new personnel trained to check who visitors are before allowing them into the schools, plus new access systems and additional security cameras.

According to police investigators, Adam Lanza, the 20-year-old gunman who committed the Sandy Hook shooting, shot his way through glass to gain access to the school.

Low said Ridgefield’s school security review following the Newtown shooting focused on the visitor access system as something that could be improved.

“The idea of the main office people buzzing people in is out of date,” she said.

Adding more school resource officers to cover the elementary schools was something else that school and police officials decided to implement. Currently, the officers are only assigned to the high school and middle school.

“We need a police presence at the other schools,” Low said.

A statement on school security improvements has been posted on the Board of Education’s website.

It says that the new security guards would follow a check-in protocol for visitors that has been approved by the Ridgefield Police Department.

The statement said that district administrators are researching the use of new access control and visitor management systems, including a card swipe system for staff, increased surveillance cameras and electronic background database scans for visitors.

The Board of Education has also formed a new School Security Committee to facilitate improvements in consultation with the police, the Fire Department, the first selectman’s office, security consultants and other appropriate town departments. The Town of Orange has a similar structure in place as it moves to make its schools safer.

A number of Board of Education employees have attended workshops on school security during the past month since the Sandy Hook shooting, the statement on the website said.

During her budget presentation on Monday, the school superintendent said some funding decisions still have to be made, such as whether the cost of the new school resource officers and their vehicles would be included in the school budget or the police department budget.

Lynn C January 22, 2013 at 05:51 PM
No Cosmo.of course not...as we know our current POTUS and his liberal agenda is all for giving out free o-phones
COSMO P January 22, 2013 at 06:08 PM
Correct but the answer is in the courts and the liberals coddling criminals. The NY shooter that killed 2 Fire men was let out of jail. Had he been sentenced to death those people would be alive today. Also how many years did he spend in jail? Ten I think but what is the difference he was out. So now how about holding the Parole Bord liable and the politicians that coddle these sick people. No the liberals wont hear of it. They say it is cruel. Then the shooting of 26 people starts a war on guns. So the liberals rather ban guns and whatever from good people minding there own business than slamming these Liberal Politicians Parole boards and all the liberal judges appointed by these Progressive liberals. So if you are a liberal look in the mirror and ask yourself who really is to blame. I say the liberals not the guns. And until they get this through there thick skulls people will get shot and people will die. It is easy to blame guns that is what the liberals want. They want you to let someone kill your family the cops come after it is over and the yellow crime scene tape goes around the house. If you feel the police will protect you or your kids better think again. Police cant be every where. And if they were the Liberal ACLU would be screaming from the rafters. So protect yourself and your kids. Or let the liberals hang no gun signs on buildings deeming them gun free zones and the killing will continue. If you don't understand this you are a lost cause and the liberals win
COSMO P January 22, 2013 at 06:19 PM
Cooper 9:06 am on Tuesday, January 22, 2013 Another nut with lots of guns Perfect he was cleared on a BRADY BACK ROUND CHECK. So gun laws dont work. I rest my case. Every gun purchased legally from a dealer requires a Brady Back round check in this country. So the Famous Brady law was not UP dated to include a convicted felon. So COOPER with you lust to crush every gun on this planet. You should at least admit the famous Brady Act is flawed. So my question to you is simple. If you by some chance met up with this guy and he wanted to kill you he would have succeeded as you do not own a gun. I rest my case. Or better yet dial you trust chrome cell phone and when the cops show up they fit you for a body bag.
Z January 22, 2013 at 06:25 PM
It’s true that President Reagan’s position on gun-control shifted a few times. But in 1991 he decisively, passionately and eloquently threw his support behind the Brady Bill, requiring background checks and a seven day waiting period for handgun purchase. In an Op-Ed piece published in the New York Times looking back on the assassination attempt he survived, the former president said: “This nightmare might never have happened if legislation that is before Congress now—the Brady bill—had been law back in 1981... If the passage of the Brady bill were to result in a reduction of only 10 or 15 percent of those numbers (and it could be a good deal greater), it would be well worth making it the law of the land.” Around the same time, at a gathering at George Washington University marking the 10th anniversary of the attempt on his life, he was quoted as saying: “With the right to bear arms comes a great responsibility to use caution and common sense on handgun purchases. And it's just plain common sense that there be a waiting period to allow local law-enforcement officials to conduct background checks on those who wish to purchase handguns."
COSMO P January 23, 2013 at 12:25 AM
Better read what the state wants to do before blabbing off. If you are really not a gun grabber are you enraged at the legislation looming in the halls of Hartford. Yes the Newtown shooter tried to buy a gun and failed. But you gun grabbers singled out the honest gun owners. (typical liberal mind set) Better read over you posts my friend. You sir are more dangerous than you think. If you are not a gun grabber what is your grand plan to curb this sort of thing from happening again. More signs that make gun free zones. Defenseless teachers against a weapon and not only a gun. Post away you ideas as i am fascinated. By the way the post and site about this guy plainly shows the Back Round check and data base was flawed and not up dated. This happens and once again a gun control law that did not work. So in the light of things post a gun control law that works. You do know that medical records are secret. Especially mental health issues. Just saying. So better contact your elected Liberal gun grabbers and insist on a data base that includes mental health records. Until these liberals see the light people that think like you will further destroy this country. The peace symbol is a dead give away of the liberal that lurks in your mind. So with that continue on destroying this county you and your liberal friends. With that please post up your grand plan to protect kids. You know what i think and i would like to know yours.
Z January 23, 2013 at 01:28 AM
Ronaldus Maximus Reagan - "[There is] no reason why on the street today a citizen should be carrying loaded weapons."
Thomas Soukup January 23, 2013 at 02:49 PM
Tim and Nancy I couldn't agree more, there is no 100% solution to the problem , but having unarmed guards exclusively at the schools is like buying a lock only for the front door of your house and pretending your back door is safe. Having UNarmed guards is waste of money and as COSMO P puts it with "gun free zones" the killing will continue. Gun free zones make two groups of people happy, the liberals and the killers. Owning a gun is somewhat like owning a fire extinguisher. The FD can't be everywhere in case of fire, so you do your best to protect yourself by having a fire extinguisher. The same is true regarding the police, when they are not there for your protection, a firearm can offer protection for you and your family until the police arrive. By law, every school bus must carry a fire extinguisher and the rest.....I guess we will leave to chance because you say we have no way to pay for the additional security. I don't mean this to be smug, but this is what comes to my mind when the town wants to spend money on new field lights, astro turf, and for that matter the new library.
Thomas Soukup January 23, 2013 at 04:33 PM
Hello Cooper By year's end there should be about 34,000 deaths due to firearms (all causes). Lets skip the cell phones, hammers and drunk drivers,but I will add one. The American Cancer Society attributes 440,000 deaths a year in the US related to tobacco use. So if you are looking to quantify the issue, deaths due to firearms are way down on the list and you lose if numbers are your point. Few in the government make much of an issue these days because the tobacco lobby is strong. Furthermore for the tens of thousands of kids who are smoking now ,it will most likely be 30 years before health problems arise. Death is slow so that makes it less of an issue. Heck, even the president grabs a smoke now and then, so how bad can they be.
COSMO P January 23, 2013 at 06:16 PM
Spout of your false info like the good little liberal do. Fascinating how ignorant some can be. If you add up all American gun deaths that year, including accidents, 3 out of 5 people who died from gunshot wounds took their own lives. Those figures are not an anomaly: With just a few exceptions, the majority of gun deaths in the United States have been self-inflicted every year since at least 1920. This is a startling fact, and one that forces us to realize that, no matter what we may believe about the Second Amendment, the debate over how to reduce the death toll from guns is, to a great extent, a debate about suicide prevention. Basically 70% of all gun deaths are GANG BANGERS with illegal guns and suicide makes up the rest. The 34,000 number is drastically incorrect because it counts justifiable shootings in the figure. Nice try Libs just cant get anything straight. You know how a democrat liberal is lying? Whenever they are talking.
Thomas Soukup January 23, 2013 at 07:42 PM
Hello Cooper Perhaps, but your numbers I believe were to serve your position on gun control, not to applaud government for their reaction to lesser causes of death. But I don't know whats in your heart so no harm done. What I find happening now is that congress and the president flock to the headlines which are the most politically expedient. They make articulate sounding speeches, write a few more laws and catch some face time on the major networks. However, in the wake of such tragic events as Newtown, the laws have no impact other than to place unnecessary restrictions on those who obey the law in the first place, AKA gun control. These laws are meaningless to those would-be killers. Congress and the president are reactive but not proactive on almost every issue, so today we respond with paranoia,having kindgartners expelled from school for pointing their fingers in the shape of a gun. All this and 9/11 is but a whisper.
Loki January 23, 2013 at 08:01 PM
Cosmo posted, "Basically 70% of all gun deaths are GANG BANGERS with illegal guns and suicide makes up the rest. " So tell me Cosmo, what were the Newtown kids? Suicides or gang bangers?
Thomas Soukup January 23, 2013 at 10:54 PM
Loki I guess he could make a case that they were tragically some small statistical part, but to the families it was 100% of their world. May God bless them!
COSMO P January 23, 2013 at 10:58 PM
Not my statistic better ask the government that is there numbers not mine. NO they were killed by a nut job that robbed guns and broke numerous laws. So make more laws and fill more body bags. All you liberals just do not understand the nut jobs and gang bangers do not give a flip how many laws you make. But one day you just might need a gun and will not be able to get one. But no Worry's you can throw you cell phone at the bad guy after dialing 911. And when the cops get to you most likely you will be DEAD. Exactly what happened in NEWTOWN.
El Rushbo January 23, 2013 at 11:15 PM
Cosmos - are you willing to have a mental exam to determine your competency for gun ownership? Seems reasonable to me, considering your end-less rants, bigotry, and hatred.
Lynn C January 23, 2013 at 11:30 PM
How unusual that someone would personally attack someone who is defending our 2nd Amendment........@ El Rushbo......I think your screen name should be El Obamo...would fit better @Cosmo....arguing with a liberal is like eating oreos while brushing your teeth..pointless and a waste of time
El Rushbo January 24, 2013 at 12:11 AM
are you the same Bimbo who insisted that only pistols were used in the Newtown killings?
Lynn C January 24, 2013 at 01:49 AM
@Cooper Just a question...Do you truly feel that the current administration is looking out for your unalienable rights as defined in the Constitution?
COSMO P January 24, 2013 at 01:59 AM
INFRINGE to encroach upon in a way that violates law or the rights of another
COSMO P January 24, 2013 at 02:00 AM
PEOPLE Humans considered as a group or in indefinite numbers:
COSMO P January 24, 2013 at 02:11 AM
Lynn the liberals have one track minds. Everyone else is crazy but them. They Bankrupted this country and state they wrecked the health care system now they want our guns. They are delusional as they relax our laws concerning Murder and they have the liberal media behind the lust to destroy everything that makes this country free. They blame lineament objects for the collapse of society and frown and call successful business men and companies Greedy PIGS. What the bottom line here is they believe in communism plane and simple. And communism is great until other people s money runs out. Then they call foul. And they ask me for a mental EXAM. WOW what a group of nasty ugly people to trash this country further in to communism' WOW HOW ABOUT THE SECOND AMENDMENT COOPER. Does that one tickle you fancy. Now i am a bigot and a hater. Got it Rushbo i need to be evaluated. As a liberal you don't. What don't you not understand about the word Infringed or People The Right of the People to keep and bear arms shall not be Infringed.
El Rushbo January 24, 2013 at 02:43 AM
tell us all about this idiots RIGHTS ! http://images.sodahead.com/profiles/0/0/2/0/0/5/2/7/9/aurora-shooter-83768859744.jpeg#aurora%20shooter
sebastian dangerfield January 24, 2013 at 05:19 AM
another democrat who runs on 'looking out for the public" http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/18/ray-nagin-charges_n_2505403.html
sebastian dangerfield January 24, 2013 at 05:33 AM
The conservatives (of which i normally argue for) here decide that if you can identify a source of death by something other than a gun, we should not focus on guns. Hmm- really? Thomas or Cosmo or whoever--Im just wondering if you really buy your own thought process? People here are looking to address gun related deaths. Not all deaths. Its saying we should not care about finding some way to halt deaths by Lou gehrig's disease, because heart attacks are more prevalent. We should not worry about terrorists, because most people die of old age. Its absurd logic...to say that someone cant care about guns, because people who text die as well. The problem is- it seems like you all feel this is a good way to argue. Guns cause deaths. Many of them are suicide--to ask for a cooling off period isnt a good idea, Lets return to the 'guard' at RHS. This is a huge waste of money. Let me ask Debra Low-- if I have evil intent and I know there is going to be a guard at the school and the doors locked 745am --dont you think, I should just enter the school when the other kids arrive --say at 715? Is the concept here, that psychotic murderers cant wake up before school starts? Every vendor --every parent, every deliveryman, etc --how are they going to assess any of this? To me this simply demonstrates that our superintendent , to who we pay lots--cannot think outside of the box. How about we place a sign "no mass murderers allowed in this school."
Z January 24, 2013 at 02:03 PM
stay on topic big fella, stay on topic, LMAO !
sebastian dangerfield January 24, 2013 at 03:04 PM
Z Lmao? If thats what makes you laugh your ass off, you must be...... now..lol!!!!!
COSMO P January 24, 2013 at 04:55 PM
El Rushbo 9:43 pm on Wednesday, January 23, 2013 tell us all about this idiots RIGHTS ! http://images.sodahead.com/profiles/0/0/2/0/0/5/2/7/9/aurora-shooter-83768859744.jpeg#aurora%20shooter Ok he did not have the right to own guns. But the liberals allowed his health records to be blocked from the national data base that would have prevented him from buying guns. So lets stay on track here. The liberals want health records private and out of the hands of the national data base for what reason. But you people want stricter gun laws other than stricter health screening for mentally ill so they can have privacy. Does not work that way and the soonwer you liberals figure this out the better. By the way the Colorado shooter would have been coddled by the Liberal Dems in this state. So your post on the death penalty is a riot and just for the record this state no longer has a death penalty thanks to the Liberal dems in Hartford. What a mockery of justice!
sebastian dangerfield January 25, 2013 at 12:24 AM
Cosmo im no liberal.im not pro gun. The nra is pro gun but its membership - 74% are in favor of putting some limits on guns and gun ownership. If youre going to argue pro gun, dont make it li eral vs conservative.
sebastian dangerfield January 25, 2013 at 12:28 AM
This thread, in my opinion, should be about how wasteful our school people. I propose we put cardboard cutouts of policeman at every scool. And if someone wats to explain to me how a real unarmed guard will protect schoolkids any more than a cardboard cut out - please do.
Lynn C February 01, 2013 at 07:58 PM
Bimbo...as usual nothing to say so resort to insults.....if you read the comments...I then posted the official statement made by the State of CT.....I can admit my mistake.... here I'll post it again..save you the trouble of having to actually read and scroll at the same time: 10:45 am on Monday, January 21, 2013 http://www.ijreview.com/2013/01/31221-update-state-police-confirm-weapons-used-in-newtown-shootings/
COSMO P February 01, 2013 at 10:27 PM
SD can you confirm those numbers with gthe NRA because i find the opposite. Just saying.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »